Fayette County Historical Society Update

A FCHS meeting was held on May 20, 2015.  The Board members present were: Alida Gover, Cindy Matlock, Jimmy Spencer, Susan Sanders, and Elizabeth Rice. Sharon Whitaker was also present serving on the nominating committee. New business included: Eugenia Kelley, Elizabeth Rice and Joy Rosser will serve another three-year term on the board.  Sharon Whitaker was elected as a tenth member to the board. Leigh Wilburn will also remain a board member.  Cindy Matlock was elected as our new President.  Susan Sanders was elected Treasurer and Sharon Whitaker was elected Secretary. New discussion also included the need for a location to hold our treasured Fayette County archives. Efforts will be made to look for any options available for this much needed facility. The date of our next Annual Meeting will be held on Saturday, April 23, 2016, the topic will be “Bootlegging in Fayette County.”  Susan Sanders reported that new Fayette County pictures and information are much need for our Facebook page.